Formula 1 World Championship

Mexico Grand Prix

23 years after the last edition, won by Nigel Mansell, the Grand Prix of Mexico is back in the calendar of the World Championship of Formula 1.

Mexico appeared in the original schedule of 2014, but the International Automobile Federation had withdrawn the race because the time to do the renovation work was too short.

According to Alejandro Soberon, president of the company manager of the circuit, the new route “will keep the original essence of the circuit, but will be both more challenging and safer for the drivers.”

Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez

The Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez is a 4.304 km (2.674 mi) motorsport race track in Mexico City, Mexico, named after the racing drivers Ricardo and Pedro Rodríguez. The circuit got its name shortly after it opened when Ricardo Rodríguez died in practice for the non-Championship 1962 Mexican Grand Prix. Ricardo’s brother Pedro also lost his life behind the wheel nine years later. Since 2015 the track once again is a host of the Formula One Mexican Grand Prix, an event it previously hosted in two separarate time periods on a different layout, the last occasion of which was in 1992.

The circuit is located within the public park of the Magdalena Mixhuca Sports City in southeast Mexico City. The circuit is owned by the Government of the City, but is currently operated under concession by Corporación Interamericana de Entretenimiento (CIE) through OCESA, one of CIE’s subsidiaries. CIE also organizes the NASCAR and Desafío Coron races in this circuit and rents the circuits to other parties, including race organizers, automobile clubs and track amateurs for fees that are controversial due to their disproportionately high amounts compared to other ex-F1 courses.


Number of laps : 71
Circuit length : 4.304 km
Race distance : 305.354 km

Shopping Basket