Formula 1 World Championship

United States Grand Prix

The first Grand Prix of the United States occurred in 1908. He joined the Formula 1 World Championship  in 1959 on the Sebring International circuit. The next year it is disputed on the circuit of Riverside. This Grand Prix is run uninterrupted until 1975 on the circuit of Watkins Glen and then is back in 1989 in Phoenix for three years. Races continue to exist  but under the name United States Grand Prix East or West and are not included in the calendar of the Formula 1 World Championship.

The  Grand Prix of the United States then returns from 2000 to 2007 on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway with a dominance of Ferrari that won 6 races of which 5 by Michael Schumacher.

In 2012 he returned to the calendar in November at the Austin Circuit .


Austin Circuit

The Austin circuit or circuit of the Americas was designed by Hermann Tilke. It has 20 curves over a distance of 5.47 km.

The distance raced by pilots during the Grand Prix of USA is 322 km for 59 laps.

Number of laps : 59
Circuit length : 5.47 km
Race distance : 322.73 km

Shopping Basket